I must not be afraid

Image

When I was in college, my friend and I worked on a horse farm. I loved spending time there. I can’t name one thing I didn’t enjoy about that job.

Well…maybe I could have done without the horse manure!

In exchange for my help around the farm I was given free riding lessons.

After a couple of months the instructor told me I was ready to roam the property without her.

SERIOUSLY! AFTER A COUPLE OF MONTHS! OK, IF YOU SAY SO.

My friend rode with me every weekend. We had such a great time. We rode through the woods and on trails for hours. I felt very safe and in control.  I never imagined anything would go wrong.

Never say never!

One day my horse got frightened and threw me off. The helmet I was wearing did not fit me correctly and it slipped off. I hit the ground hard and my head smacked against the dirt.

After a couple of weeks of swearing I would never get back on a horse, I decided to give it another chance.

The instructor put the horse on a lead shank so she would be able to control his actions if he tried to throw me off again.

Like a 120 pound woman can really control a horse with a rope! If he wanted to throw me he would have but I decided just to go with it.

After a few minuets of walking in circles I could feel my anxiety building. Before I knew it I was jumping off the side of the horse.

Literally, I jumped off of a moving horse. How that is better than getting thrown off I don’t know but it was the only thing I could come up with at the time!

I wanted off and I got off!

Before my fall, riding made me feel free and relaxed. I had no thoughts, no worries, no fear, and no stress while I was riding. I only felt joy. I want to be able to feel that again so I must not be afraid!

This summer I am going to get back on a horse!

I will ride again!

Challenge yourself and do something you never thought you would again. If you really love something don’t let fear get in the way.

7 thoughts on “I must not be afraid

  1. I had a similar thing happen to me when I was 7. My pony got spooked and bolted – with me in the saddle. He took off and ran into a hot fence and I got shocked and my leg got pretty badly cut up from the wire. He ran like a bat out of hell across the pasture with my dad and my three uncles running after him to get me off! Finally he turned around and ran back towards them and one of them got his reigns. It was quite the experience for me! I did get back on my pony after that, but it took a few months!

Leave a Reply

