Can I help You?

Today, my husband and I took the girls to the mall.

We sat down and drank a cup of coffee.

We bought the girls a few dresses.

We looked for some outfits for ourselves.

And…the girls had a major meltdown IN PUBLIC.

First, Brielle started crying.

We initially tried rocking her to sleep in her stroller.

It didn’t work.

After that, my husband picked her up and cradled her in his arms.

She still continued to cry.

Once Alexis realized Brielle was no longer in the stroller she started crying as well.

We now had two screaming babies in a crowded mall.

We tried everything we could think of to get them to settle down.

Singing.

Rocking.

Shushing.

Swaying.

BEGGING!

Nothing worked.

Slowly people started looking in our direction and many thoughts began passing through my mind. 

Can I help you?

Like your kids never cried in a public place before.

Keep on walking.

Are you enjoying the show?

I of course kept these thoughts to myself.

Since nothing was helping the girls relax,  and people were blatantly staring, we quickly packed up our belongings and hightailed it to our car.

Once we got to the car the girls were all smiles. What smart cookies. They wanted to go home and they found a way to make it happen. 

One thought on “Can I help You?

Leave a Reply

