I can’t be the only one this happens to

Before I had the girls I was an elementary school teacher. 

When speaking to my students I would say things such as…

Thank you for being so helpful my friend.

Let’s all press our silent buttons before we enter the hallway.

Now, now, let’s relax and talk about how we are feeling.

So… when I came home from work it was difficult to transition from one role to another and on occasion I would say things to my husband such as…

I would love it if you would set the table my friend.

I’m sleeping; press your silent button.

Now, now, let’s not get upset. Share your feelings.

Well…now that I have the girls I speak a certain way with them and it is happening all over again.

When speaking to the girls I say things such as…

Did we go potty?

Time for yum yums, sit nicely while mommy gets your lunch.

Shall we go night, night?

So… on occasion I say things to my husband such as…

I will be going to the potty now; can you watch the girls?

Did you enjoy your yum yums?

Time for night, night; I am going to bed.

I wonder what kind of nonsense is going to come out of my mouth when I go back to work and I am a mother, a wife, and a teacher. 

2 thoughts on “I can’t be the only one this happens to

Leave a Reply

