Hot Wax…Hot Mess

Yesterday, I decided it was about time to stop trying to tweeze my own eyebrows and go and get them waxed. I used to go bi-weekly, but after the girls were born, I had other activities/chores that took precedence.

When I entered the salon, I was told that the lady who usual takes care of me was not available. Even though I was a bit apprehensive, I agreed to try someone new.

With shaky hands, the new lady waxed my eyelids, my forehead, my nose, and even managed to wax off some of the hair on top of my head.

When I looked in the mirror my eyebrows looked good…from a distance. I was genuinely shocked. How could they look this good when it didn’t even feel like she got anywhere near my eyebrows?

I took a step towards the mirror, and upon closer inspection I realized that my eyebrows did look good, but only individually. They didn’t match! One had a higher arch than the other. This was a more realistic picture after the experience I had just had. Being that I didn’t want to risk having her take off an entire eyebrow by fixing them, I thanked her, and tried to leave the room.

As I neared the door she grabbed my shoulder and said, “you sit” so I sat. I didn’t want to offend her. I was shocked when she put wax on the upper part of my lip. I hadn’t asked her to wax that area, but being that there was already hot wax on my face, I sat there silently as she waxed my upper lip, my actual lips, the inside of my nostril, and my cheek.

“Perfect.” she said.

“Perfect.” I muttered, as I left the room.

If nothing else, I learned a valuable lesson. It is ok to say STOP when someone is coming at you with hot wax and they have no idea how to use it.

Hopefully I am able to fix my eyebrows before the girls’ party this weekend.

2 thoughts on “Hot Wax…Hot Mess

  1. NNNNOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!! You poor thing! OH I Hate That!!! I had an elderly woman take the outer one fourth of my whole eyebrow off AND burn my upper eyelid at the same time! ugh. Don’t you worry, you are going to be a Knockout for the party this weekend! You’ll be Beautiful!!!

Leave a Reply

