Winded

The gym just isn’t for me. It is not something I look forward to and so I always find an excuse to avoid going.

I am tired.

The girls would miss me if I left them for an hour to exercise.

My car is almost out of gas and there are no gas stations on the way to the gym.

I stubbed my toe.

It is too cold to leave the house.

You get the idea.

The gym isn’t the only way to exercise and so I have been exploring other options.

Softball for instance used to be a sport that I absolutely loved as a child and as a young adult. I looked forward to every game. I even loved going to practices.

I did some research and found a women’s softball league in my town and thought it would be fun to try out.

I was so excited. I wrote an e-mail to the league asking them to forward me information about tryout dates and game schedules but then thought twice about sending it. I didn’t want to join until I tested out my abilities. I needed to see if I was still able to play the game well.

To test out my abilities, my brother and I went to a local field and I…

Hit a few balls.

Threw a few pitches.

Ran around the bases.

And…after 10 minutes I felt completely winded.

I was gasping for air.

I was asking for an inhaler because I was convinced I was having an asthma attack.

I was panting.

Overall, I was a mess.

There is no way I can join a softball league. I would not be able to keep up with my teammates and angering a bunch of women doesn’t seem like the wisest idea.

Maybe joining a softball league is something I can do next year. For now, I will stick to walking around parks and malls with the girls.

2 thoughts on “Winded

Leave a comment